Caley Awards Group 2017


Is there someone you know who deserves recognition?  If so, watch out for the 2017 nomination form which will be available later in the year. The awards committee meets at the end of the year and presentations are made immediately after the AGM in March.


The Society issues prestigious awards, medals and certificates of merit in recognition of the achievements of professional horticulturalists, nurserymen, gardeners and amateur gardeners.

The Scottish Horticultural Medal (SHM):

An award first introduced in 1950 to mark the 150th anniversary of the Society. The award is strictly limited to a maximum of 50 recipients at any one time and is awarded to anyone, anywhere, who has made an outstanding service, by a professional or amateur to Scottish Horticulture.

The Dr Patrick Neill Memorial Medal:

An  award to a Scottish botanist or cultivator.

The Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother Medal in Horticulture:

Introduced in 1990 to mark the 90th birthday of the Society’s Patron, the Queen Mother. The medal is awarded for outstanding service by a non-professional.

The Dr Andrew Duncan Medal:

Introduced in 2003 for distinguished service to horticulture by an educationalist, advisor or administrator.

Certificates of Merit

These awards were re-introduced in 2002 and acknowledge a wide range of service to gardening or horticulture.

Carter-Patterson Memorial Medal and Prize

An award to a high achieving horticulture student or apprentice.